What to Know About Utah DUI Laws
If you’re facing a DUI charge in Utah, it’s important to understand the state’s laws and how they may affect your case. Here are things you need to know about Utah DUI laws.
What happens if you get caught
The legal blood alcohol limit in Utah is 0.08%. If you’re found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you can be charged with DUI. In Utah, you can be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol level is 0.05% or higher – even if it’s below the legal limit of 0.08%.
Utah has an “implied consent” law, which means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test (blood, breath, or urine) after you’re pulled over on suspicion of DUI, you will automatically face penalties. These can include license suspension and installation of an ignition interlock device.
If you are convicted of DUI in Utah, you will face mandatory minimum penalties. These include a 48-hour jail sentence for a first offense, and a 180-day jail sentence for a second or subsequent offense. You will also be required to pay a fine, have your license suspended, and complete an alcohol education or treatment program.
Utah has a “zero tolerance” law for underage drinkers. This means that if you are under 21 and convicted of DUI, you will face enhanced penalties. These can include license suspension and mandatory alcohol education classes.
If you are convicted of DUI in Utah, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This is a breathalyzer-type device that prevents your car from starting if it detects alcohol on your breath.
If you’re in physical control of a vehicle, you can be charged with DUI – even if you’re not actually driving. This means that if you’re parked on the side of the road and the keys are in the ignition, you can still be charged with DUI.
If you’re facing a DUI charge in Utah, it’s important to understand the state’s laws and how they may affect your case. An experienced DUI attorney can help you navigate the legal process and protect your rights.
What options you have after receiving a DUI
If you are facing a DUI charge in Utah, it is important to know your rights and options. You may be feeling hopeless and like there is no way out, but there are things you can do to fight the charges and potentially reduce the penalties you are facing.
One of the first things you should do is hire an experienced DUI lawyer. A lawyer who specializes in DUI cases will be familiar with the laws in Utah and can help you create a strong defense. They may also be able to negotiate with prosecutors to get the charges reduced or dismissed altogether. There are many different lawyers who specialize in DUI cases, so it is important to do your research and find one that is experienced and has a good track record. If you have been charged with DUI in Utah, it is important to take the charges seriously. The penalties can be severe, and you could end up spending time in jail.
You should also consider taking a defensive driving course. This can show the court that you are taking steps to avoid getting in a DUI situation again. It may also help to reduce the penalties you are facing.
Finally, don’t despair. A DUI charge is not the end of the world and there are things you can do to fight it. With the help of a lawyer and taking some positive steps, you can improve your chances of beating the charges.